The Reuben Fowler Big Band

Celebrating 40 Years of ‘Aja’ (2017-present)

Reformed in 2017 for the single recording of Black Cow for the  Celebrating 40 Years of Aja project, the Reuben Fowler Big Band will be recording again in 2018 on the Ubuntu label. The line-up for Black Cow featured 22 of London’s finest  jazz and session musicians collaborating to perform Reuben’s arrangement of the Steely Dan masterpiece.

Please find Black Cow on all major streaming platforms, as well as iTunes:

Lead and Backing Vocals:
Hamish Stuart

Gareth Lockrane
Graeme Blevins
James Gardiner Bateman
Paul Booth
Leo Richardson
Simon Marsh

Tom Walsh
James Copus
George Hogg
Jim Davison

Gordon Campbell
Robbie Harvey
Owen Dawson

Bass Trombone/Tuba:
Ade Hallowell

Rob Luft (Guitar)
Jason Rebello (Fender Rhodes/Clav)
Laurence Cottle (Bass)
Ian Thomas (Drums)

Backing Vocals:
Sharlene Hector
Sumudu Jayatilaka
Mary Pearce

Solos: Jason Rebello- Fender Rhodes Paul Booth- Tenor Saxophone
‘Black Cow’- Donald Fagen/Walter Becker Arranged by Reuben Fowler
Recorded and Mixed by Darren Williams at ‘The Den’ Keyboards recorded at ‘Word of Mouth Studios,’ London
Bass and Drums recorded at ‘Stimia Studios,’ London
Trumpets recorded at ‘Resident Studios,’ London
Co-produced by Tom Walsh and Darren Williams
Mastered by Ian Sefchick at ‘Capitol Studios,’ Los Angeles
Music preparation by Phil Knights
Cover design by Oliver Bentley at ‘Split Design’ inspired by the original artwork for ‘Aja’ by Phil Hartman

Available through:

Between Shadows Big Band (2013)

Formed in January 2013 for the ‘Between Shadows’ recording sessions in Angel Studios (London), the Reuben Fowler Big Band comprises some of the finest jazz musicians in the UK, as well as guests Tom Harrell (USA), Stan Sulzmann and Jim Hart. Between Shadows was released July 2013 on Edition Records, and was cited as one of the ‘top 50 jazz albums of 2013.’

Since the original recording, the ensemble has played at The Forge, Kings Place and the Royal Festival Hall (as part of the 2013 London Jazz Festival.) Playing all original material, Marlbank said of them “Big Band of the moment? Could well be.” In February 2014, Reuben reformed the ensemble for an exclusive one off gig celebrating the life and work of Kenny Wheeler. ‘Everybody’s Song: Celebrating the work of Kenny Wheeler’ featured Evan Parker, Percy Pursglove, Martin Shaw and Robbie Robson playing rare Wheeler compositions curated by Reuben and Nick Smart from the Royal Academy of Music archives. The concert was well received, with London Jazz writing “…Let’s hope that the band records this music soon and makes it known to a wider audience.”

Please feel free to click on a member of the band to find out more about them and the varied work they do.

The Reuben Fowler Big Band

Flugelhorn/Composer/Arranger: Reuben Fowler

Mike Lovatt/Tom Walsh
Andy Greenwood
George Hogg
Percy Pursglove
Freddie Gavita/Steve Fishwick

Sam Mayne
James Gardiner Bateman
Joe Wright
George Crowley
Rob Cope
Gareth Lockrane 

Gordon Campbell
Robbie Harvey
Kieran McLeod
Callum Au

Alex Munk 
Matt Robinson
Tom McCredie
Dave Hamblett
Barak Schmool

Tom Harrell
Stan Sulzmann
Jim Hart
Brigitte Beraha
Guillermo Rozenthuler

Conductor: Guy Barker

Made possible by:



This site uses Cookies - By using this site or closing this you agree to our Cookies policy - Read More.
Accept Cookies